Google has announced a new setting “Who can notify you” in Google+, it is being rolled out based on user feedback according to Google+ engineer. This is a welcome addition to the Google+ as users are asking for better privacy controls in Google+.
The new setting is set to ‘Extended circles’ by default but users can change the setting based on their preference for notifications via Google+ settings.
According to Google Engineer Kathleen Ko the new setting controls will affect notifications if users do any of the following.
- Share with you individually
- Select â€˜Notify about this postâ€™ (when sharing to a circle youâ€™re in)
- Mention your name
- Invite you to a hangout
- Invite you to play or send you messages from a game
But these controls won’t prevent notifications to you when someone adds comments in one of your post or when someone adds you to their circles.
The new feature is not rolled out to all users now, it will be rolled out soon to all users.